Blaue & Poppy

The Trial Against Ourselves

  • Thursday 27.5.2021, 19:30, Teater Nor stor, TBA

On Christmas Eve, 2015, Julian Blaue, Edy Poppy and their baby boy are robbed by two impoverished, armed men in Rio de Janeiro. Blaue & Poppy’s first reaction is to report the two assaulters to the tourist police. They later regret it. This is a reversed crime story. Back in Norway, the couple explore the event artistically, turning the guilt question up-side down. Who are the real victims?

As part of the global middle- and upper-class we all exploit the under classes.

In spring 2018, Blaue & Poppy enact a law against structural violence, at Sørlandets kunstmuseum. They then accuse themselves of breaking the law by having acted out structural violence against the two impoverished attackers. In a vehicle they have designed for an investigation into the matter, the duo travel back towards Brazil. In Rio, looking for proof against themselves, they follow the tracks of their assaulters all the way to the prison. In autumn 2018, Blaue & Poppy present an “Interim Report” at the prestigious Museu de Arte do Rio, Kristiansand kunsthall and Teaterfestivalen i Fjaler.

The final act of this juridical drama is “The Trial Against Ourselves”. The accused artists present their findings from Rio as evidence of their supposed breach of law. The prosecutor agrees with their guilt, whilst the defence lawyer is defending them against their will. You can be a participant in the jury. After cross examinations, testimonies, expert statements and more, you will be asked, together with the judge, to determine the fate of Blaue & Poppy. The outcome of this staged courtroom trial — the verdict — could have very real effects on the lives of Blaue & Poppy.  

But, since it is a theatre, not a courthouse, the punishment is not legally binding. Can the artists, nevertheless, hope for any legal consequences of having a trial-performance that showcases that it has no legal consequences? Can an artistic precedent bring the law against structural violence away from the stage and into the parliament, and the accused out of the theatre and into the court house?

Blaue & Poppy accuse themselves of a crime with global consequences. This is why a global jury, live-streamed into the theatre by CourtStageTV, is necessary. This international court-theatre channel will also broadcast the event out into the world. Thus a global public can witness that “The Trial Against Ourselves” is just and fair. CourtStageTV promises juicy and surprising stories, unexpected turns of events and real trauma. You need to see it to believe it!

Each staged event of “The Trial Against Ourselves” will be live, unique and unpredictable. The defence lawyer and the prosecutor will choose their strategies in front of your eyes to guarantee that Blaue and Poppy give uncensored testimonies. The judge will constantly ensure that legal procedures are followed. If, towards the end of this trial, the jury finds Blaue & Poppy guilty, the judge will sentence them with a punishment, not yet known. If the jury finds them not-guilty, the show is over.

Become a participant in this exclusive jury! Send «global jury» to trialagainstourselves@gmail.com to receive a link.

Become an audience member of this trial! Watch CourtStageTV’s live-stream here. “The Trial Against Ourselves” starts at 19.30, local time and will be simultaneously streamed worldwide at: Lagos, Kinshasa, Roma, Berlin & Oslo 19.30, Helsinki, Athens, Cape Town & Cairo 20.30, Istanbul, Bagdad & Moskva 21.30, Teheran 22.00, New Delhi 00.00, Hanoi & Bangkok 01.30, Kuala Lumpur & Beijing 02.30, Tokyo & Pyongyang 03.30, Darwin 04.00, Sydney 05.30, Honolulu 08.30, Silicon Valley & Los Angeles 10.30, Mexico City 12.30, Havana & New York 13.30, Brasília & Rio 15.30, Dakar, Reykjavík & London 18.30. Language: English

Blaue & Poppy are an award-winning, German-Norwegian writing- and performance duo, operating trans-continentally. The artist, Julian Blaue, who has had celebrated and controversial performances in venues like Staatsoper, Berlin, and at The National Scene, Bergen, and writer, Edy Poppy, who has published critically acclaimed prose, translated into five languages, are partners in crime, love and art. They fell in love in 2014 when they created the performance “The Monomaniac Past and the Transvestite Utopia of the Future” at Henie Onstad Art Center, in Oslo. Later, Blaue & Poppy created a political love series: “The Sexual Body” at Dramatikkens hus, Oslo, “Love Train, Love Pain” at Bøker i Bø, “What About the Materiality of the Body, Judy?” in the journal Manifest, “Debt” at Staatstheater Darmstadt, and “Artistic Love Record”, with which they have toured the world. The duo launched the law against structural violence in Bulgaria in 2019, as the background for the article-performance “It’s Only Paper” in the newspaper Ny Tid, also shown live at Teateret, Kristiansand, at the art festival ReGeneration. In 2018 Blaue & Poppy started working on the performance series “The Personal Encounter with World Politics”, consisting of “The Criminal Complaint Performance” at Sørlandets kunstmuseum, “The Interim Report” at Museu de Arte do Rio et al. and, the upcoming, “The Trial Against Ourselves” at Kilden Performing Arts Centre, Stamsund International Theatre Festival and on CourtStageTV.

Director: Julian Blaue. Co-director: Edy Poppy. Concept: Julian Blaue. Text: Blaue & Poppy. Performers: Blaue & Poppy. Actors and co-creators: Jacob Jensen, Samantha Lawson, and Laura Mitzkus. Scenographers and costume designers: Pelle Brage and Julia Rosa. Producers: Kjell Hjelmerud (Kilden) and Edy Poppy. Dramaturges: Endre Sannes Hadland (Kilden) and Jeppe Kristensen (Fix & Foxy). Juridical advisor: Jacob Jensen. Proof reader: Samantha Lawson. Assistants: Frida Marie Blankenburg, Hanna Dybvik Inderlid, Ingrid Hamlandsø Hellan, Sofie Qvale, Thaline Magli Omdal and Sabina Jajevski.. Co-produced by Kilden Performing Arts Centre. CourtStageTV:  Artistic Mentor: Maja Friis (award winning Danish film director). Directors: Blaue & Poppy and Kristian Mosvold. Technical Manager: Håvard Njåstad and Petter Sørensen (Kilden Digital). Image Director: Henrik Nielsen Mørch. Photographer: Tobias Rysstad. Producers: Ruben Lervåg (Kilden Digital) and Kristian Mosvold (Substans Film).

25.–29.5.
2021